Silver Rose Awards - Past Winners

(c) Michael Contes


Migrants Rights Centre Ireland (MRCI) and Mohammed Younis, Migrant Leader

Awarded for their work to ensure justice and rights for migrants and their families in Ireland, and in particular Mohammed Younis for his tireless campaigning on forced labour.

“I came to Ireland and faced modern-day slavery for 7 years, and now I want to fight for all migrant workers in Ireland and encourage them to stand up and speak out about their issues” said Mohammed Younis, MRCI migrant leader, translated by fellow activist Waseem Yousef. Thanks to Mohammed Younis’ work and support, modern-day slavery has now become a crime in Ireland.

Islamic Community of Tapada das Mercês and Mem Martins (ACITM), Portugal

Awarded for their work integrating people coming mainly from Western Africa into the Lisbon suburb of Tapada das Merces.

Tapada das Merces is an area with a very high population density, a lot of young people and many different nationalities. This community works with a holistic approach to try to identify the problems that the people living in the area of Tapada das Merces are facing and then help them resolve these problems to improve the quality of life for families in the neighbourhood and give value to the area and its population.

U Maung Maung, Secretary General of Federation of Trade Unions-Myanmar

Awarded for his essential role in the survival –and now growth – of the trade union movement in Myanmar.

“While we are now starting to see many investors coming into the country, the European Union and its Member States should require those EU companies doing business in Myanmar to uphold human rights and workers’ rights standards, as well as a fair distribution of wealth. In this way we believe that Myanmar can be a role model for the whole Asia region", said U Maung Maung FTUM General Secretary

Guatemalan indigenous Ixil communities represented by Center for Human Rights Legal Action (CALDH)

Awarded for their fight for the truth to come out and for justice to be done regarding the crimes committed against the Guatemalen indigenous Ixil communities during the civil war.

"I will fight for human rights until the day I die" said Juana Sanchez Toma, member of the Ixil community, in a heartfelt speech which met with a standing ovation. CALDH has been a driving force in working for justice to be done and the truth to come out regarding the terrible abuses that the Guatemalan people faced during the internal armed conflict, supporting the Ixil community notably in their complaint for genocide and crimes against humanity against former General Efrain Rios Montt.

Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett, UK

Awarded for their work to reduce income inequality and improve the quality of life for all.

Kate Pickett explained: “We believe that greater equality is the best way to ensure a high quality of life for everybody and that a fair distribution of resources across populations across the planet is the only way that we can all cooperate together to create the sustainable development that the world needs."


Kaos GL (Turkey)
Awarded for their work campaigning for the rights of LGTB people in Turkey. "This award goes to every LGTB human being in this room, in Brussels, in the world, those who died for who they were or the person they fell in love with" said Nevin Öztop from Kaos-GL.

Iris Munguia
Awarded for her work campaigning for women workers’ rights on banana plantations in Honduras. She accepted the award calling for "a campaign for more stable jobs for women and zero tolerance against sexual harassment on banana plantations".

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen
Awarded for this work in opening up political parties to initiatives by citizens and progressive civil society: "No-one can change alone for the better, but we can change together", said Rasmussen.

The Norwegian People, represented by their Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg
A special award was presented to The Norwegian People represented by Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg and accepted by Niels Engelslchion, Deputy Head of Norway to the EU and Ambassador to Belgium: "This is a token that everyone has thought of us", he said before continuing: "We have a democracy and no-one can destroy that for us."


Latvian Trade Union for Social and Health Care Employees (LVSADA)
Awarded for their fight for higher wages, shorter working hours and safe working conditions for social and health care employees in Latvia. Read about LVSADA signature action (in English)

Labour Education Foundation (Pakistan)
Awarded for their work advocating for the rights of the workers as well as providing education, training and development opportunities to disadvantaged groups in Pakistan.

Robert Badinter (France)
Awarded for his struggle against the death penalty and his dedicated work as a politician.


Colombian Trade Union Federations CUT, CTC and CGT (Colombia)
Awarded for their continued work to organise Colombian workers who are often working in indecent conditions, in dangerous working environments, with low salaries, and with no or little social protection. Every year trade union activists are harassed, threatened and killed.

European Roma Rights Centre (ECCR)
Awarded for their work combating anti-Romani racism and human rights abuse of Roma.

Gyula Horn (Hungary)
Founder of the Hugarian Socialist Party (MSZP), formed in 1989, and chairman in 1990. Awarded for his role as a Minister of foreign affairs when Hungary decided to open the western border (’iron curtain’).

Pierre Mauroy (France)
French socialist politician, he served as Prime Minister under François Mitterrand from 1981 to 1984 and was also on the first Board of the Franco-German Youth Office and is a founder of Léo Lagrange, a SOLIDAR Member organisation.

Past Winners Archive 2000-2008

Receive our Weekly Round Up:

app logo

Download our APP

through APP Store or GOOGLE Play

Decent work library